Saturday, October 23, 2010

No computer is a bitch

Sorry folks, but tis' the truth. Penelope is still put away and awaiting a trip to the geeks so that we can get her out of her dead battery phase. It's just life is so crazy right about now.

I finally got a new phone! The older one was falling apart. It had tape all over the place and it wasn't  ringing correctly or loud enough. I got myself another phone (similar to a Sidekick) but I am afraid a Blackberry is what I need right now. I'm close to thirty not twenty. But anyways...

I took another orgo quiz last Wednesday. It was pretty good, despite the fact that Stereochemistry is considered the hardest part of the entire course. I must say, it is pretty hard, but now I am studying with some people and I'm playing on seeing my professor for some extra doubts.

Life is pretty good, despite the stress level. I haven't had time to spend with friend because of my crazy sleeping patterns and such. I also had the chance to shadow a doctor this week but I was a bit disenchanted at being too involved with the patients. I care way too much. The doctors have told me this may present a problem. I'm a bit concerned. Could this be a warning sign?

Anyways, until a bit later. Time to do my lab reports.

Cheers!

Sunday, October 17, 2010

Happy 18th Birthday to my darling nephew from cyberspace!

Well, life has been crazy. I got a letter from my nephew and sent him two last week. I am actually writing him one tomorrow and sending him some pictures, stamps and love so that he hangs in there.

Only 60 more days to go. I have faith that he won't get discharged.

On top of that, today is my nephew's 18th Birthday! I remember those Saturday nights when my mother and I would go over to my sister's and play dominoes, or pick on him, fight with him, goof around, and watch him pig out like a normal teenager. God, I miss that!



But now he has a son and a girlfriend, eagerly waiting for his return from training. We all are. Anxiously and patiently waiting for him to return.

From cyberspace, I am sending deep love and good vibes and wishes to my nephew. The little baby I saw come home from the hospital as a nine and a half pound baby, twenty-three inches. And now look at him, with more responsibility than me and I am creeping through my late 20's.

Studying study groups against thy will REALLY blows

The biggest waste of time in my life have and will always be study groups. I can't stand them. And for the lack of better will, I have been compelled to do it.

My microbiology midterm has been postponed for the first weeks of November. And I have some time to make up for lost ground. I have scouted the help of a classmate there to give me a hand. He's good, I must confess; so making time to just study will be fine and essential for our acing the midterms. It sounds like the exam will be intense. 50 multiple choice questions and it was proven from the practice/simulation exam that they will be a doozy. And tricky.

I hate tricky.

Well, I got the results for my organic chemistry exam and suffice to say, I didn't fail. I was above the average mark for the class but it is still not enough. So, against my will, I've had to recruit the help of a classmate who did excellent on the exam to help me. While he was thrilled with the prospect of helping me, I still have to say that I hate group study with a passion. I find it a waste of my time and of my partner's. Nothing gets done, except a lot of talking ala "knowing me, knowing you way." HOWEVER, I am willing to overlook this little detail and try my best to study with this guy.

Hopefully, he won't get too blown away by my apparent lack of orgo chem knowledge.

I am just a bit worried about his willingness to get out of his way to help me. I hope it isn't what I think it is because he offered to help me based on MY schedule instead of his own and he seemed eager enough for me and him to get started immediately. While I approached him with the question, I am still rather perplexed of his good nature. Perhaps because I am so cynical that I can't see the great picture. By Monday afternoon I should know better what's his angle. I, on the other hand, will avoid any type of cynicism and just say he is being nice and only wants to help me.

Yet he is kind of cute, so...

Friday, October 15, 2010

One long week and have been exhausted

It has been over a week and will fill you guys on what's happening later during the day!!! Cheers!

Friday, October 8, 2010

Life Sucks (well, sometimes)

This week has been crappy. I was just given word that my microbiology departamental midterms for lab and lecture are on either the 19th or 21st, my lab report due on the 12th, and my lecturer's exams on the 14th for lecture and TBD on the lab. Ugh...

I gained some weight this week and I'm already broke after thinking about the bills I have to pay. Being broke sucks! These are the times I hate taking pre-med classes; you're broke, student loans are mounting, you live with your parents and don't earn enough money. I especially hate that one- being broke.

I don't complain though. After all, life can be ten times worse. I can be the rich Upper East Side lady who I rode on the bus with this afternoon on my way to pick up little Emily* from school to take her to a friend's birthday party. And though I wasn't intentionally late, I had the chance to overlook rich Upper East Side lady's notebook she was writing on:

"I hate life... I can't take this anymore... I can take this anymore... I can't take this anymore..."

And I would also like to add that she was crying while she wrote this. Of course, being in NYC, no one cared or noticed. Just myself. How bad can life suck when you contemplate on ending it?

The woman looked like she was in her late 50's. Caucasian, blonde, looked like she was well- off. Well, at least better off than me. What could be her dilemma? What can push a human being to the edge to cause harm to him or herself? To me, life is a beautiful thing filled with things that suck. It isn't easy, but you only get one shot. Why do people waste on it? Why don't people realize that you only get one life to live. Nothing in this world can be worse than dying; especially when you don't want to. I hope that I live until I'm 1,000, but I'm afraid this isn't so. That won't stop me from taking good care of myself and not harm it with toxic crap, narcotics, guns and/or knives and diseases spread by other ill-intentioned individuals.

Whatever Upper East Side lady's dilemma is must be serious. She wrote a page in a half  "I can't take it no more..." That's very sad and I was a pinch close to trying to talk to her, but it's like some New Yorkers would say "It's none of my business."

I also visited Dave and Busters and spent more money on machines, but it was a fun day. Emily* was spending time with me instead of with her little friends and that made me feel bad for her. She needs to be around girls her own age. It's like the great and ONLY Mr. Miyagi once said "To make honey, young bee needs fresh flower not old prune." And I'm not considering myself an "old prune," just much older than these little girls. Which comparing to them, I would also be "old prune."

Much older  "old prune."

I also went with a good and special friend of mine to the Fat Cat on Christopher Street and 7th Avenue in Soho. It was comfortable. There was Jazz music, Scrabble boards, ping pong, shuffle board (also known as the elderly population past time) and pool. It was a nice place- an establishment I most certainly will go back to again. I played two games with my friend and needless to say, I kicked his ass badly at Scrabble. It wasn't even close.

With this, I will say goodbye, take a shower and get some rest since I have a doctor's appointment at 9am, go take Penelope to the Geek Squad (as she is now suffering from a coma, as a result of two dead batteries) exercise, clean the bathroom and do my lab report. Studying must be fiercely done in order to ace these exams. Oh, and did I mention that I got two A+ on my first two lab reports? Because I did. Praise the Lord!! One step closer to Baby Doctor School!!!

And with this beautiful light note, I'm signing off. Remember, as much as it sucks, life still is pretty fucking neat! Give it a chance and don't let anyone take you from here. Make it count and make yourself proud!

Cheerios to all and to all a good night!

Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Sacrifices

I think the most notable con about becoming a doctor is the great sacrifices you need to make for the greater good. I mean, don't get me wrong, helping others who cannot help themselves isn't what I would call a sacrifice but when you are planning on having babies, a husband or a "normal" family, then I think the sacrificed would majorly be them. My mother told me that if any of the emergencies were to take place, then she'd help me with the baby in case my future husband was a doctor or if I were  a single mother.

But I don't really want to depend on her or anybody, but at the end, I wouldn't really want anybody else caring for my babies than my family. That's the biggest worry I have and my main hessitation of going to medical school at times. Well, destiny will oversee this. I just took my first organic test today. I finished everything on it and I have a decent feeling about it, but we'll see if I ace it or do an amazing job.

By this time next Wednesday, my life will be pretty much decided. I told myself I wouldn't settle for a B. And I won't. Anyways, I am starting to get nervous with the Yankee game here. The game is tied and the bases are loaded for the Twins. C.C. Sabathia better not sabotage this game or I'll be upset. And of course, Microbiology is waiting...

Cheers!

Sunday, October 3, 2010

Broken Computer

For my luck, my computer's batery went kapoot on Saturday and have to go to the geeks to get it changed. If it would've been a hardware problem, I would've been totally upset.

Still studying, but think I may call it a night in about an hour. Still didn't get to microbiology. Tomorrow will be extra special for me indeed.

On second thought, I may go to bed now and get up extra early. I need to see my professor and ask him a million and one questions about orgo chemistry. Thank heavens I like microbiology, if not tomorrow would be a total nightmare!

Cheerio!

Orgo Chem

"WHO SAYS ORGANIC CHEMISTRY IS HARD?"

My professor always claims it isn't, but it's deep stuff, let me tell you. You have got to practice, practice, PRACTICE! It isn't just about being smart; I am not really the sharpest knife in the drawer, but I'm hanging in there. I guess there's a true tale about working hard and you'll be rewarded...

I also haven't started studying microbiology, a two-chapter test is on Tuesday and I guess you can say I'm royally screwed. I know I'll get to it sometime tonight, but I guess a lack of sleep must occur for that miracle to occur. I'll be falling asleep by 3am. There are never really any all nighters for me here. That's not a good prospect for somelike like me who wishes to enter a career that's all about massochism.

I hope that I ace these tests because I would hate to change careers... hopefully my hard work will pay off. There  ain't no such thing as a choosing a P.A. career as a backup for medical school. I can never imagine myself becoming a PA. More a nurse, but NOT a PA. No offense to the community.

Saturday, October 2, 2010

A Sweet Marine Letter and Happy Birthday to my Joey!

I wanted to get some studying done today and couldn't because I went to see my nephew's birthday party and my Little Loaf of Bread. I also heard from my nephew, Jay who is currently doing training to become a marine. Now, I'm trying to figure out how to get to his December 17th graduation in South Carolina. I hope I don't have a final during that day so that I can see my older nephew. I miss him so much!

Anyways, I'm off to watch the Yankee game and enjoy some more time with my family. Then finish chapters three and four and do some organic chemistry practice problems. Happy Birthday to my little nephew Joey, who will turn 10 on Monday!!!

Cheers to all!!!

Friday, October 1, 2010

Adventures in Babysitting

I'm a part-time babysitter which means I deal with kids driving me crazy several times a week for a few hours a day. One con is that sometimes you need to deal with parents who don't always see eye to eye with you and your sentiments.  A big con is a free metro unlimited a month and that it's flexible. Most of the time, you see more than the parents. The kids grow to trust you, especially when they like you. I've known Tommy* and Emily* for almost six years in January, since he was five and she was six. Now, Emily* is in middle school going through her first hits of puberty and little Tommy* is establishing himself as one of the most popular boys in school.

Today, I took Tommy to the bookstore to get a book and to also purchase some Biscuit books for my Little Loaf of Bread. My baby nephew loves books and to be read to. Plus I want him to be an established reader, like his older auntie. Hopefully, I'll get my way with him when it comes to books. Tommy and I had some quality time together and had some fun under the rain. I just hope he doesn't catch a cold.

Emily was waiting for me at their apartment in Midtown East, with Mariana,* the other babysitter I share shifts with. She was happy to see me too, but Emily told me that she had something very important to talk to me about. Come to find out, she's amongst a bunch of little pervert thirteen-year old boys trying to cop a feel out of a sixth grader. Sighs... I had to reiterate once again how our body (as girls) is a temple and that she should sternly let the next idiot (boy or girl) know to watch themselves and keep their hands to themselves. I also told Emily to talk to her mother about this, since her mother has really wanted to hold a solid relationship with her daughter. I don't blame her either. It's hard to reach a kid, but not impossible either. There's so much shit going on in the world of youths nowadays that I applaud my boss for her desire to continue having a babysitter/caregiver for her children despite the fact that girls Emily's age don't have one anymore. People, girls need a companion at that stage in their lives more than ever, especially in NYC- such a dangerous and big place.

I felt kind of flattered that Emily thought of me to talk to about something so personal and the fact that she didn't feel ashamed to tell me shows that she trusts me. I did tell her, however, that she must tell her mother about this episode so that her mother knows. I hope she talks to her herself or I think I'll have to tell her herself and I really don't want to be the one to do so. Emily told me that out of the people she knows she thought of me because I always know what to do and how she would feel. I do, actually. I was bullied as a child/teenager and there's nothing that I hate the most than a bunch of fools who bully on others just to impose their will and authority over the not so popular kids at their only palace in life. So, fuck 'em. And when I have more time, I'll let you in on my bullying story. It's rather funny actually because my high school years can really sum themselves in the movie Mean Girls, except that I think I was nastier than the nasty girls in that movie. You just grow tired of it and hopefully, so will Emily.

Anyways, now that I have unloaded my barrel on you guys, I feel a lot better and jump start my weekend by preparing for my organic chemistry and microbiology tests for next Wednesday and Tuesday. Wish me luck and cheers on this cool and rainy evening!