This week has been crappy. I was just given word that my microbiology departamental midterms for lab and lecture are on either the 19th or 21st, my lab report due on the 12th, and my lecturer's exams on the 14th for lecture and TBD on the lab. Ugh...
I gained some weight this week and I'm already broke after thinking about the bills I have to pay. Being broke sucks! These are the times I hate taking pre-med classes; you're broke, student loans are mounting, you live with your parents and don't earn enough money. I especially hate that one- being broke.
I don't complain though. After all, life can be ten times worse. I can be the rich Upper East Side lady who I rode on the bus with this afternoon on my way to pick up little Emily* from school to take her to a friend's birthday party. And though I wasn't intentionally late, I had the chance to overlook rich Upper East Side lady's notebook she was writing on:
"I hate life... I can't take this anymore... I can take this anymore... I can't take this anymore..."
And I would also like to add that she was crying while she wrote this. Of course, being in NYC, no one cared or noticed. Just myself. How bad can life suck when you contemplate on ending it?
The woman looked like she was in her late 50's. Caucasian, blonde, looked like she was well- off. Well, at least better off than me. What could be her dilemma? What can push a human being to the edge to cause harm to him or herself? To me, life is a beautiful thing filled with things that suck. It isn't easy, but you only get one shot. Why do people waste on it? Why don't people realize that you only get one life to live. Nothing in this world can be worse than dying; especially when you don't want to. I hope that I live until I'm 1,000, but I'm afraid this isn't so. That won't stop me from taking good care of myself and not harm it with toxic crap, narcotics, guns and/or knives and diseases spread by other ill-intentioned individuals.
Whatever Upper East Side lady's dilemma is must be serious. She wrote a page in a half "I can't take it no more..." That's very sad and I was a pinch close to trying to talk to her, but it's like some New Yorkers would say "It's none of my business."
I also visited Dave and Busters and spent more money on machines, but it was a fun day. Emily* was spending time with me instead of with her little friends and that made me feel bad for her. She needs to be around girls her own age. It's like the great and ONLY Mr. Miyagi once said "To make honey, young bee needs fresh flower not old prune." And I'm not considering myself an "old prune," just much older than these little girls. Which comparing to them, I would also be "old prune."
Much older "old prune."
I also went with a good and special friend of mine to the Fat Cat on Christopher Street and 7th Avenue in Soho. It was comfortable. There was Jazz music, Scrabble boards, ping pong, shuffle board (also known as the elderly population past time) and pool. It was a nice place- an establishment I most certainly will go back to again. I played two games with my friend and needless to say, I kicked his ass badly at Scrabble. It wasn't even close.
With this, I will say goodbye, take a shower and get some rest since I have a doctor's appointment at 9am, go take Penelope to the Geek Squad (as she is now suffering from a coma, as a result of two dead batteries) exercise, clean the bathroom and do my lab report. Studying must be fiercely done in order to ace these exams. Oh, and did I mention that I got two A+ on my first two lab reports? Because I did. Praise the Lord!! One step closer to Baby Doctor School!!!
And with this beautiful light note, I'm signing off. Remember, as much as it sucks, life still is pretty fucking neat! Give it a chance and don't let anyone take you from here. Make it count and make yourself proud!
Cheerios to all and to all a good night!
No comments:
Post a Comment