Monday, November 29, 2010

This week's list. Will I fair better this week around?

I realized that I was way over my head last week. I guess I was very excited over the possibility of getting a load done that I forgot to realize that I am after all, human. So, realistically speaking, this is what I'll propose for this week:

1. Review chapter 9 and start chapter 10 for organic chemistry.

2. Study all of my chapters for microbiology before Sunday.

3. Finish all of the studying for microbiology lab final by Sunday.

4. Visit the gym at least twice by Sunday.

5. Write my nephew Jay by Wednesday.

6. Eat better this week and lose the 6lbs of water I've gained this past week. Wish me luck with that.

7. THREAD my eye brows and wax the mustache and shaggy- do.

8. Breathe, Jen. Breathe easy!

Just eight things to do this week...

Until then people!

Didn't do that hotly with last week's list...

Well, after all these days off, I wonder if I actually honored any of it... Well, here's the list:

1. Read Organic Chemistry Chapters 10 and 9 (yes, in THAT particular order). Done, although I need to go back to chapter 9. Nevertheless, done.

2.Read Microbiology Chapters 17 and 20, and possibly 21 by the following week. Eh, tonight. Tonight will be the night.

3. Do lab reports (if my beloved and considered professor decides to cock-block my attempts to enjoy my Thanksgiving Holiday and to get back on orbit with these classes). To this one, I hope not! Say it with me people, I hope not! Due this Thursday, will complete it tomorrow.

4. Lose at least 5lbs of water and soda free basing on salads, protein shakes and water. No soda nor coffee until Thanksging. No sweets ''til then either. Did it, but gained it after turkey day. Will start up again tomorrow.

5.Go to the gym at least three times before Sunday.    No comment.

6.register for my classes Tuesday, the 23rd and get all the classes that I need and at the times that I want! Almost there.

7.E-permit orgo chem II and orgo chem lab I for Hunter College. Just waiting.
8.Clean my disgusting apartment.       No comment...

9.Avoid stores of any kind on Black Friday like the plague. Yes!!!!

10. Bake cupcakes and deserts for my little nephews for Thanksgiving while listening to Puerto Rican Christmas Carols. Viva el Jibaro Puertorriqueno!     My mother decided to do them for me. Was very displeased.

11. Get a Parcheesi board to play on Thanksgiving day with the little nephews.      Never had time to get to the store.

12. Watch my beloved New York Jets crush the Cinncinatti Bengals.   And My Jets won!

13. Thread my eye brows and wax my mustache and the Shaggy Do ( my chin hair, in case you're all wondering).     No time!

14. See my Australian friend Jess for the first time in two years. Hopefully, I won't cry; and if I do, I'm lame.
I'm happy to report that I wasn't lame.

15.Enjoy the Holiday with my family and the knowledge of existing and caring friends out there. It already 'tis the season!  Done, and still doing it!


7/15 done. Hopefully more than half done will happen. Cheers!

Saturday, November 27, 2010

Round 1 Studying Hard: Fight!

Determined to finish organic chemistry! Gotta. Have an important quiz today. Here's the list for this weekend- which must be done by Monday night:

1. Finish reading the longest chapter in the history of organic chemistry.
2.Skim chapter 10
3. Read three microbiology chapters... possibly four.
4.Start studying for the December 9th Microbiology laboratory final.
5. Make sure everything gets done on this list. Help!

Just relaxed for the better part of the day. Now, that nighttime is approaching (early), it's time to buckle down and study. Three more weeks til this is all over and as always, I feel like I am behind!

Friday, November 26, 2010

Friday Outing

And no, this has nothing to do with Black Friday. I got nowhere near stores today; well except for Urban Outfitters in the East Village with my Australian friend, Jess and Barnes and Noble where I bought a Christmas book for my Loafy. I had fun because I met some people there.

It's good to go out and let the mind wander a bit and relax the brain because sometimes, you JUST need a break from all that studying. But, I will definitely finish my chapter 9 after my warm shower, since I'm more than half-way through it tonight. Gotta do it.

I went to a reggae concert this evening, pretty fun. I saw a cute Puerto Rican dude who was definitely my type, but I think he had a girlfriend. Boo! I met some other of Jess male friends and it felt rather strange to be around all of this testosterone. I am not used to that kind of stuff.

Suffice to say, I now have the munchies and my mom freebased all the junk food dry. No soda, no cake, no NOTHING! Mierda...

Thursday, November 25, 2010

Thanksgiving day!

Thanksgiving was fun. Ate like a pig but it was loads of fun. I wish I can download the photos of Loafy playing with his little nephew (that's right, I'm also a great aunt!) and holding him, but hopefully I'll have those by tomorrow.  Loafy seems to love me more and more everytime I see him. He wanted me to carry him. And he watched some football with his godmother (that's me!)

My great nephew, Jake, is sooo cute. He looks like a little butterball.Unfortunately, he had a little cold so he was out of his element tonight. But he is starting to look a lot like my nephew Jay, who is almost done with his basic training in the Marines.

My middle guy friend who told me about the friend who was "angry" at me told me to forget about that angry guy because he's an idiot. I don't have why to feel bad about him if he's acting like a douchebag when it isn't my fault, so... ef him!

I also met a musician and wasn't aware of it until I actually googled him and his band this evening. He was kinda cute, in a dorky way. I was walking down the streets of Manhattan on Tuesday and I smiled back at him and started talking to me. We spoke about clothes and about my post-bac. He wished me luck and told me to check out his band. I'm actually almost compelled to going to his band's concert on December 9th but that's the day of my laboratory final:(

My dream of actually meeting a "celebrity" was made a reality. And on my way back home I heard his band on the radio. I smiled all proud to have at least spoken to the drummer only briefly. Hi, Drummer!

Anyhoo, time to take a warm shower and finish chapter 9 for orgo. I'm determined to finish that tomorrow along with ten to start microbiology studies. Gotta get 'er done! Only three weeks of school left!

Again, Happy Thanksgiving to all and cheers!!!

Thanksgiving

Well, today I'm off to see my fammily and... my Loafy. I can't wait to see him and play with him! Want to take some pics of Loafy's first Thanksgiving!

I calculated my GPA too, and it isn't so bad. I guess I was simply depressed last night. It's like a friend of mine told me: "At the end of the rainbow, there will be a great career!"

She was right.

Happy Thanksgiving! Time to eat and cheers!

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Bad news or crappier news?

Well, the day presented itself with no apparent change. I couldn't get into my classes and I'm a bit depressed about my grades:(

C+ average so far on Organic Chemistry. B- average on microbiology.

I just can't understand how I lost my gas. I used to be an excellent student back in the day and now I just see my grades and it depresses me. Ever since I came to NYC my grades haven't been great. I used to have straight A's. Now I'm so happy when I get one of those. Perhaps I am just running out steam. Perhaps English and universities here are so different from how I learned in Puerto Rico that I haven't systemized myself yet to the change after six and a half years, or perhaps, like my mom thinks, it's all an excuse.

Bad news #1: "Don't try and take something that lasts a whole lot of years. You really don't put a lot of emphasis in things like you used to when you started." ~Someone
That just totally depressed my evening. I wish she can understand me. Sometimes, reading is hard for me. In Spanish is a lot easier, but I am afraid that after six years it could've all disappeared and now I'm stuck with being a simple average student with just above a 3.0 and THAT's depressing to go from a 4.0 status to this...


I just wish my academic career was like it used to be. When I hadn't known the meaning of failing a test or getting average scores on a midterm or something. Maybe it's the holiday blues. But, I wish I can shake off this bad student rush and go back to being a 3.7 student again.

Bad news #2: A friend of mine is angry at me. MAJORLY angry at me.

I usually don't give a rat's ass about that kind of stuff but with him, it's different. It bothers me because I have helped him and we've always been decent friends. All of a sudden, he stopped talking to me (out of nowhere) and is mad at me. A common friend of ours told me this last night. "You have no idea, it's like, he wants to kill you when he sees you." I wonder what I did to warrant that anger in him. I know he used to help me with school, did pushups when we studied together once (and yes, randomly) and seemed very cool. I just don't know what to do with him. Maybe I'lll just let everything cool down. But knowing him, he probably won't talk to me again. I was kinda angry at him, for just ignoring me all of a sudden, but our friend in common told me he was genuinely angry with me.

Bad news #3: My mother baked my Thanksgiving desert and ruined the cake! The cupcakes, I frosted, but they looked plain awful. I know she meant well, giving that she came home early and I was coming home from school late and tired, but I can't stand when people interfere and try to take control over things I really wanted to do. I know it's all in good faith, but still- RUINED!

Bad news #4: Didn't do any better on the microbiology quiz. Great...

Bad news #5: Thought I had done a million times better on my laboratory lab midterm and I really didn't. 78. Oh, and did I say this was after an 8 point curve?

Bad news #6: Private one, sorry all!

Bad news #7: I had a bad piece of carrot cake when I know I should be behaving. Oh, and with soda. Let there be sugar!

Anyways, will post a little later on. A bit depressed and don't want to share my misery. I'll come later with more croaks of doom. Happy Thanksgiving and cheers!

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Oy!

Ok, just realized how messed up CUNY e-sims is. I can't get into any of my courses! That just really stinks. On top of being dead last during registration time, I have to deal with living on esims forever until January.

On top of that, I'm not really allowed to take two of my four courses. I didn't realize that I already had completed sociology during my years at Puerto Rico and that the Biology is already on my record. My main worry is if whether or not the schools will accept my old Biology and let me take an extra biology course or I have to go through the whole up and down City to get a permission from the department to re-take it. Gosh, I hope not because if that's the case, I may take physics. And if I can't, I'll just my orgo classes with the general courses I may need for professional school and start studying for standardized tests. Bad news I may need to do night school again and that wasn't fun... :/

So, I may do physics I so that I can take Physics II in the fall and orgo lab II during the summer. That way, I will do biochemistry in the fall with a few general classes and have the following spring off. That'd be nice!

Ok, now I want to have that off.

I barely read today, but that was to be expected, seeing that my microbiology lab ends at 10:30pm and the fact that I am out all day, at the lecture, work and then back at school to then commmute back for an hour and change. This is the main reason I despise night school.

Now, I am stuck. I have to make my final choices before anything. I will make a few phone calls in the morning and see what happens there. That should make up my mind! I may even have to broaden my scope and think NYC beyond. Hopefully, I can get into a school here...

Anyways, off to bed. So much to do tomorrow. Work for an hour and then run like a million and one errands. Hopefully I can get to the gym during the evening hours.

Cheers!

P.S. I did an ok job today with my eating. I had some Chinese food and some Canadian Cheetos (yes, that was my screw-up!)

Monday, November 22, 2010

What a day... and a half

Went grocery shopping with my sister and mother today in preparation for the Thanksgiving Holiday. Well, let me tell you that these supermarkets were ALREADY mobbed on Monday morning!

Besides that, I couldn't study at all for that organic chemistry quiz. Good news is, I think I did alot better at that than on the actual exam. New Years' Resolution #1: work on test taking. I suck at it.

Other than that, saw my Loafy again today and he was his old self. Was awake through the whole supermarket ordeal and he was pretty good. Had little Jewish women saying things like, "Oh my Gawd, he's like a little doll!!"

Truth of the matter is, Loafy looks exactly like a doll. He looks like a phoney little baby! Love that Little Loaf! My day has been almost as uneventful as many other days. I just fear the fact when it crumples all up that I feel overwhelmed again! Anyways, time to read Microbiology. Have lots to do and so little time, dear me! Two hours of studying and then time to hit the bed!

Til the morning, all! Cheers!

P.S. I followed religiously the diet plan I imposed onto myself. Day two should be almost as exciting yet!!!

Weekly list

This is a great idea I had at 2am this morning. Just make a list of things to do over the week and look like a real ass if and when I don't finish what I am supposed to. Well, from here to Sunday, November 28th. Here goes:

1. Read Organic Chemistry Chapters 10 and 9 (yes, in THAT particular order).
2.Read Microbiology Chapters 17 and 20, and possibly 21 by the following week.
3. Do lab reports (if my beloved and considered professor decides to cock-block my attempts to enjoy my Thanksgiving Holiday and to get back on orbit with these classes). To this one, I hope not! Say it with me people, I hope not!
4. Lose at least 5lbs of water and soda free basing on salads, protein shakes and water. No soda nor coffee until Thanksging. No sweets ''til then either.
5.Go to the gym at least three times before Sunday.
6.register for my classes Tuesday, the 23rd and get all the classes that I need and at the times that I want!
7.E-permit orgo chem II and orgo chem lab I for Hunter College.
8.Clean my disgusting apartment.
9.Avoid stores of any kind on Black Friday like the plague.
10. Bake cupcakes and deserts for my little nephews for Thanksgiving while listening to Puerto Rican Christmas Carols. Viva el Jibaro Puertorriqueno!
11. Get a Parcheesi board to play on Thanksgiving day with the little nephews.
12. Watch my beloved New York Jets crush the Cinncinatti Bengals.
13. Thread my eye brows and wax my mustache and the Shaggy Do ( my chin hair, in case you're all wondering).
14. See my Australian friend Jess for the first time in two years. Hopefully, I won't cry; and if I do, I'm lame.
15.Enjoy the Holiday with my family and the knowledge of existing and caring friends out there. It already 'tis the season!

Happy Holidays everyone and cheers!

Sunday, November 21, 2010

Such a long time- it's official, I'm blog- irresponsible.

I totally forgot my password to my blog and this explains the lack of news.

Not that so much has been going on that you would want to say is "new."

More and more studying done, and I failed my second orgo exam. Not for nothing, organic chemistry is a bitch in disguise. My workshop leader told me and my study group that we may have "overstudied." I didn't really study for a make up quiz for tomorrow to boost the grade, as I will not be able to do better on this test than the first test even with a perfect score. And even if that weren't the case, I had a very hard week with lab reports left and right and just plain exhaustion. I just realized that my last final is on the 21st of December. So I only have thirty days until the very end. So come by tomorrow, major studying to be done or to start. This will be over before I know it.

This is why I hate group study.  I'd rather study alone. Even though I didn't get an A on that first test, I did 100 times better on that one. Of course, this has nothing to do with the people in the study group. I thought they were awesome and things like that, but I just can't function with a group, I'm more of a loner in the respect. they're still my friends, no hard feelings, but this isn't what I am going back to. It doesn't work.  It's like the Great Sophia Petrillo says: "I work alone!"

Can't wait til this semester is over!

I went out on a date as well for the first time in about three months, which kind of soothed my ego just a bit. The dude and I were a little different as he was a major Christian dude and I, well, let's just say for the lack of better purposes, "spiritual." To make the long story short, he didn't compliment me at all during the date, and he never called me back. I think my short skirt threw him off.

I knew I shouldn't have listened to my mother on that one. My older sister thinks he was married like the guy I dated back in September when I visited Puerto Rico and said he lived with his grandmother. Men, don't be lame. Just say you're involved, ok? Ain't no happiness nowhere...

As for registration, I am dead last on Tuesday afternoon. Until now, these are the courses I am signing up for:

1. Biology I with lab- Had to re take it, considering I took I and II in 2001 and Spring 2002 and the requirement request the pre-requisites to have been taken the most some five to six years prior to applying to Med, Pharmacy or any kind of PA programs.

2. Organic Chemistry- Lab I

3. Organic Chemistry II- As an e-permit at Hunter College since the only two times they offer the class at City conflict with my working on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. So I can't have a normal semester until next fall, my perhaps last semester.

4. Sociology- As a requirement, general education. This will give me an excellent excuse to boost my GPA further.

So that gives me full time status. Woo-hoo! Let's pray for that TAP award now...

I even calculated my GPA. As much as I hate this, I may see a C+ in orgo class. But even after my calculations, the GPA total will be able to take the hit if I achieve a B+ or above in Microbiology class. Hate doing this, but... situation is forcing me to look at it this way. I am praying for a B or a B- which would be fantastic, considering the class. I heard organic chem II is a bit easier than the first one, so I am hoping that this card will favor me next Spring.

Still haven't been able to take Penelope to the Geek Squad for her new battery. I'm just bad. Will try to keep this a bit more updated. I know for a fact I will have a lot more time come the Winter break and my studying for my MCAT, PCAT (yes, I have added the pharmacy school option in there, as I am beginning to grow fascinated with pathogens, diseases and their erradications) and the NLN (not too appealed with the nursing school idea, but that's backup Plan C).

For now, I am off... have a great week everyone and will try to log on tomorrow and post some more updates!!!

Cheers!