Monday, December 6, 2010

6 years... and it's still like the first day.

6 years ago today was the day when I actually met him. The Australian that changed my life. I met him at the Hunter College subway station. He was my first kiss and the first man I fell in love with. He got married with a Brazillian girl and is now very happy in Melbourne, Australia.

I can't ever forget his face. I can never forget his voice nor his accent and his mischievious grin. And I can never forget the advice he gave me that day. And I never saw him again.

I'm sure he's forgotten me already. But that's ok. I will always remember him.

The poem I dedicated to him is in a box in my closet, hoping that one day I'll be able to publish it so that he can read this and the other poems for him. He always told me that he'd be there for my first book signing when I become a big shot writer. i'm pretty sure he wouldn't go anyways. He always said that I would be a great writer someday.

That would be after I finish my degree in 2014, or revise it next Spring.

Anyways, time for studying and Happy Six years!

Cheers!

Sunday, December 5, 2010

I can feel the grind... two more weeks left of this!!

Well, folks, before I hit the sack, I wanted to blog a little since I've been a little lazy (correction, busy) about it because of all the studying. Working hard and hoping that I get B's this semester like I've planned it. For orgo, it is looking quite abysmal though. I can't afford a C.

Which is why I am starting my "wake up at 6am groove and being at the library by 8:15am." This will be my new schedule until the end. Once my Tuesday and Thursday lab ends this week, I will be in Midtown after work studying until 11pm.

I know I can do this! Just need heart and a push.

And to actually brave the NYC cold like a warrior!

God help me!

Anyways, will update as soon as possible! Have a great week and cheers, everybody!!!

Monday, November 29, 2010

This week's list. Will I fair better this week around?

I realized that I was way over my head last week. I guess I was very excited over the possibility of getting a load done that I forgot to realize that I am after all, human. So, realistically speaking, this is what I'll propose for this week:

1. Review chapter 9 and start chapter 10 for organic chemistry.

2. Study all of my chapters for microbiology before Sunday.

3. Finish all of the studying for microbiology lab final by Sunday.

4. Visit the gym at least twice by Sunday.

5. Write my nephew Jay by Wednesday.

6. Eat better this week and lose the 6lbs of water I've gained this past week. Wish me luck with that.

7. THREAD my eye brows and wax the mustache and shaggy- do.

8. Breathe, Jen. Breathe easy!

Just eight things to do this week...

Until then people!

Didn't do that hotly with last week's list...

Well, after all these days off, I wonder if I actually honored any of it... Well, here's the list:

1. Read Organic Chemistry Chapters 10 and 9 (yes, in THAT particular order). Done, although I need to go back to chapter 9. Nevertheless, done.

2.Read Microbiology Chapters 17 and 20, and possibly 21 by the following week. Eh, tonight. Tonight will be the night.

3. Do lab reports (if my beloved and considered professor decides to cock-block my attempts to enjoy my Thanksgiving Holiday and to get back on orbit with these classes). To this one, I hope not! Say it with me people, I hope not! Due this Thursday, will complete it tomorrow.

4. Lose at least 5lbs of water and soda free basing on salads, protein shakes and water. No soda nor coffee until Thanksging. No sweets ''til then either. Did it, but gained it after turkey day. Will start up again tomorrow.

5.Go to the gym at least three times before Sunday.    No comment.

6.register for my classes Tuesday, the 23rd and get all the classes that I need and at the times that I want! Almost there.

7.E-permit orgo chem II and orgo chem lab I for Hunter College. Just waiting.
8.Clean my disgusting apartment.       No comment...

9.Avoid stores of any kind on Black Friday like the plague. Yes!!!!

10. Bake cupcakes and deserts for my little nephews for Thanksgiving while listening to Puerto Rican Christmas Carols. Viva el Jibaro Puertorriqueno!     My mother decided to do them for me. Was very displeased.

11. Get a Parcheesi board to play on Thanksgiving day with the little nephews.      Never had time to get to the store.

12. Watch my beloved New York Jets crush the Cinncinatti Bengals.   And My Jets won!

13. Thread my eye brows and wax my mustache and the Shaggy Do ( my chin hair, in case you're all wondering).     No time!

14. See my Australian friend Jess for the first time in two years. Hopefully, I won't cry; and if I do, I'm lame.
I'm happy to report that I wasn't lame.

15.Enjoy the Holiday with my family and the knowledge of existing and caring friends out there. It already 'tis the season!  Done, and still doing it!


7/15 done. Hopefully more than half done will happen. Cheers!

Saturday, November 27, 2010

Round 1 Studying Hard: Fight!

Determined to finish organic chemistry! Gotta. Have an important quiz today. Here's the list for this weekend- which must be done by Monday night:

1. Finish reading the longest chapter in the history of organic chemistry.
2.Skim chapter 10
3. Read three microbiology chapters... possibly four.
4.Start studying for the December 9th Microbiology laboratory final.
5. Make sure everything gets done on this list. Help!

Just relaxed for the better part of the day. Now, that nighttime is approaching (early), it's time to buckle down and study. Three more weeks til this is all over and as always, I feel like I am behind!

Friday, November 26, 2010

Friday Outing

And no, this has nothing to do with Black Friday. I got nowhere near stores today; well except for Urban Outfitters in the East Village with my Australian friend, Jess and Barnes and Noble where I bought a Christmas book for my Loafy. I had fun because I met some people there.

It's good to go out and let the mind wander a bit and relax the brain because sometimes, you JUST need a break from all that studying. But, I will definitely finish my chapter 9 after my warm shower, since I'm more than half-way through it tonight. Gotta do it.

I went to a reggae concert this evening, pretty fun. I saw a cute Puerto Rican dude who was definitely my type, but I think he had a girlfriend. Boo! I met some other of Jess male friends and it felt rather strange to be around all of this testosterone. I am not used to that kind of stuff.

Suffice to say, I now have the munchies and my mom freebased all the junk food dry. No soda, no cake, no NOTHING! Mierda...

Thursday, November 25, 2010

Thanksgiving day!

Thanksgiving was fun. Ate like a pig but it was loads of fun. I wish I can download the photos of Loafy playing with his little nephew (that's right, I'm also a great aunt!) and holding him, but hopefully I'll have those by tomorrow.  Loafy seems to love me more and more everytime I see him. He wanted me to carry him. And he watched some football with his godmother (that's me!)

My great nephew, Jake, is sooo cute. He looks like a little butterball.Unfortunately, he had a little cold so he was out of his element tonight. But he is starting to look a lot like my nephew Jay, who is almost done with his basic training in the Marines.

My middle guy friend who told me about the friend who was "angry" at me told me to forget about that angry guy because he's an idiot. I don't have why to feel bad about him if he's acting like a douchebag when it isn't my fault, so... ef him!

I also met a musician and wasn't aware of it until I actually googled him and his band this evening. He was kinda cute, in a dorky way. I was walking down the streets of Manhattan on Tuesday and I smiled back at him and started talking to me. We spoke about clothes and about my post-bac. He wished me luck and told me to check out his band. I'm actually almost compelled to going to his band's concert on December 9th but that's the day of my laboratory final:(

My dream of actually meeting a "celebrity" was made a reality. And on my way back home I heard his band on the radio. I smiled all proud to have at least spoken to the drummer only briefly. Hi, Drummer!

Anyhoo, time to take a warm shower and finish chapter 9 for orgo. I'm determined to finish that tomorrow along with ten to start microbiology studies. Gotta get 'er done! Only three weeks of school left!

Again, Happy Thanksgiving to all and cheers!!!

Thanksgiving

Well, today I'm off to see my fammily and... my Loafy. I can't wait to see him and play with him! Want to take some pics of Loafy's first Thanksgiving!

I calculated my GPA too, and it isn't so bad. I guess I was simply depressed last night. It's like a friend of mine told me: "At the end of the rainbow, there will be a great career!"

She was right.

Happy Thanksgiving! Time to eat and cheers!

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Bad news or crappier news?

Well, the day presented itself with no apparent change. I couldn't get into my classes and I'm a bit depressed about my grades:(

C+ average so far on Organic Chemistry. B- average on microbiology.

I just can't understand how I lost my gas. I used to be an excellent student back in the day and now I just see my grades and it depresses me. Ever since I came to NYC my grades haven't been great. I used to have straight A's. Now I'm so happy when I get one of those. Perhaps I am just running out steam. Perhaps English and universities here are so different from how I learned in Puerto Rico that I haven't systemized myself yet to the change after six and a half years, or perhaps, like my mom thinks, it's all an excuse.

Bad news #1: "Don't try and take something that lasts a whole lot of years. You really don't put a lot of emphasis in things like you used to when you started." ~Someone
That just totally depressed my evening. I wish she can understand me. Sometimes, reading is hard for me. In Spanish is a lot easier, but I am afraid that after six years it could've all disappeared and now I'm stuck with being a simple average student with just above a 3.0 and THAT's depressing to go from a 4.0 status to this...


I just wish my academic career was like it used to be. When I hadn't known the meaning of failing a test or getting average scores on a midterm or something. Maybe it's the holiday blues. But, I wish I can shake off this bad student rush and go back to being a 3.7 student again.

Bad news #2: A friend of mine is angry at me. MAJORLY angry at me.

I usually don't give a rat's ass about that kind of stuff but with him, it's different. It bothers me because I have helped him and we've always been decent friends. All of a sudden, he stopped talking to me (out of nowhere) and is mad at me. A common friend of ours told me this last night. "You have no idea, it's like, he wants to kill you when he sees you." I wonder what I did to warrant that anger in him. I know he used to help me with school, did pushups when we studied together once (and yes, randomly) and seemed very cool. I just don't know what to do with him. Maybe I'lll just let everything cool down. But knowing him, he probably won't talk to me again. I was kinda angry at him, for just ignoring me all of a sudden, but our friend in common told me he was genuinely angry with me.

Bad news #3: My mother baked my Thanksgiving desert and ruined the cake! The cupcakes, I frosted, but they looked plain awful. I know she meant well, giving that she came home early and I was coming home from school late and tired, but I can't stand when people interfere and try to take control over things I really wanted to do. I know it's all in good faith, but still- RUINED!

Bad news #4: Didn't do any better on the microbiology quiz. Great...

Bad news #5: Thought I had done a million times better on my laboratory lab midterm and I really didn't. 78. Oh, and did I say this was after an 8 point curve?

Bad news #6: Private one, sorry all!

Bad news #7: I had a bad piece of carrot cake when I know I should be behaving. Oh, and with soda. Let there be sugar!

Anyways, will post a little later on. A bit depressed and don't want to share my misery. I'll come later with more croaks of doom. Happy Thanksgiving and cheers!

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Oy!

Ok, just realized how messed up CUNY e-sims is. I can't get into any of my courses! That just really stinks. On top of being dead last during registration time, I have to deal with living on esims forever until January.

On top of that, I'm not really allowed to take two of my four courses. I didn't realize that I already had completed sociology during my years at Puerto Rico and that the Biology is already on my record. My main worry is if whether or not the schools will accept my old Biology and let me take an extra biology course or I have to go through the whole up and down City to get a permission from the department to re-take it. Gosh, I hope not because if that's the case, I may take physics. And if I can't, I'll just my orgo classes with the general courses I may need for professional school and start studying for standardized tests. Bad news I may need to do night school again and that wasn't fun... :/

So, I may do physics I so that I can take Physics II in the fall and orgo lab II during the summer. That way, I will do biochemistry in the fall with a few general classes and have the following spring off. That'd be nice!

Ok, now I want to have that off.

I barely read today, but that was to be expected, seeing that my microbiology lab ends at 10:30pm and the fact that I am out all day, at the lecture, work and then back at school to then commmute back for an hour and change. This is the main reason I despise night school.

Now, I am stuck. I have to make my final choices before anything. I will make a few phone calls in the morning and see what happens there. That should make up my mind! I may even have to broaden my scope and think NYC beyond. Hopefully, I can get into a school here...

Anyways, off to bed. So much to do tomorrow. Work for an hour and then run like a million and one errands. Hopefully I can get to the gym during the evening hours.

Cheers!

P.S. I did an ok job today with my eating. I had some Chinese food and some Canadian Cheetos (yes, that was my screw-up!)

Monday, November 22, 2010

What a day... and a half

Went grocery shopping with my sister and mother today in preparation for the Thanksgiving Holiday. Well, let me tell you that these supermarkets were ALREADY mobbed on Monday morning!

Besides that, I couldn't study at all for that organic chemistry quiz. Good news is, I think I did alot better at that than on the actual exam. New Years' Resolution #1: work on test taking. I suck at it.

Other than that, saw my Loafy again today and he was his old self. Was awake through the whole supermarket ordeal and he was pretty good. Had little Jewish women saying things like, "Oh my Gawd, he's like a little doll!!"

Truth of the matter is, Loafy looks exactly like a doll. He looks like a phoney little baby! Love that Little Loaf! My day has been almost as uneventful as many other days. I just fear the fact when it crumples all up that I feel overwhelmed again! Anyways, time to read Microbiology. Have lots to do and so little time, dear me! Two hours of studying and then time to hit the bed!

Til the morning, all! Cheers!

P.S. I followed religiously the diet plan I imposed onto myself. Day two should be almost as exciting yet!!!

Weekly list

This is a great idea I had at 2am this morning. Just make a list of things to do over the week and look like a real ass if and when I don't finish what I am supposed to. Well, from here to Sunday, November 28th. Here goes:

1. Read Organic Chemistry Chapters 10 and 9 (yes, in THAT particular order).
2.Read Microbiology Chapters 17 and 20, and possibly 21 by the following week.
3. Do lab reports (if my beloved and considered professor decides to cock-block my attempts to enjoy my Thanksgiving Holiday and to get back on orbit with these classes). To this one, I hope not! Say it with me people, I hope not!
4. Lose at least 5lbs of water and soda free basing on salads, protein shakes and water. No soda nor coffee until Thanksging. No sweets ''til then either.
5.Go to the gym at least three times before Sunday.
6.register for my classes Tuesday, the 23rd and get all the classes that I need and at the times that I want!
7.E-permit orgo chem II and orgo chem lab I for Hunter College.
8.Clean my disgusting apartment.
9.Avoid stores of any kind on Black Friday like the plague.
10. Bake cupcakes and deserts for my little nephews for Thanksgiving while listening to Puerto Rican Christmas Carols. Viva el Jibaro Puertorriqueno!
11. Get a Parcheesi board to play on Thanksgiving day with the little nephews.
12. Watch my beloved New York Jets crush the Cinncinatti Bengals.
13. Thread my eye brows and wax my mustache and the Shaggy Do ( my chin hair, in case you're all wondering).
14. See my Australian friend Jess for the first time in two years. Hopefully, I won't cry; and if I do, I'm lame.
15.Enjoy the Holiday with my family and the knowledge of existing and caring friends out there. It already 'tis the season!

Happy Holidays everyone and cheers!

Sunday, November 21, 2010

Such a long time- it's official, I'm blog- irresponsible.

I totally forgot my password to my blog and this explains the lack of news.

Not that so much has been going on that you would want to say is "new."

More and more studying done, and I failed my second orgo exam. Not for nothing, organic chemistry is a bitch in disguise. My workshop leader told me and my study group that we may have "overstudied." I didn't really study for a make up quiz for tomorrow to boost the grade, as I will not be able to do better on this test than the first test even with a perfect score. And even if that weren't the case, I had a very hard week with lab reports left and right and just plain exhaustion. I just realized that my last final is on the 21st of December. So I only have thirty days until the very end. So come by tomorrow, major studying to be done or to start. This will be over before I know it.

This is why I hate group study.  I'd rather study alone. Even though I didn't get an A on that first test, I did 100 times better on that one. Of course, this has nothing to do with the people in the study group. I thought they were awesome and things like that, but I just can't function with a group, I'm more of a loner in the respect. they're still my friends, no hard feelings, but this isn't what I am going back to. It doesn't work.  It's like the Great Sophia Petrillo says: "I work alone!"

Can't wait til this semester is over!

I went out on a date as well for the first time in about three months, which kind of soothed my ego just a bit. The dude and I were a little different as he was a major Christian dude and I, well, let's just say for the lack of better purposes, "spiritual." To make the long story short, he didn't compliment me at all during the date, and he never called me back. I think my short skirt threw him off.

I knew I shouldn't have listened to my mother on that one. My older sister thinks he was married like the guy I dated back in September when I visited Puerto Rico and said he lived with his grandmother. Men, don't be lame. Just say you're involved, ok? Ain't no happiness nowhere...

As for registration, I am dead last on Tuesday afternoon. Until now, these are the courses I am signing up for:

1. Biology I with lab- Had to re take it, considering I took I and II in 2001 and Spring 2002 and the requirement request the pre-requisites to have been taken the most some five to six years prior to applying to Med, Pharmacy or any kind of PA programs.

2. Organic Chemistry- Lab I

3. Organic Chemistry II- As an e-permit at Hunter College since the only two times they offer the class at City conflict with my working on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. So I can't have a normal semester until next fall, my perhaps last semester.

4. Sociology- As a requirement, general education. This will give me an excellent excuse to boost my GPA further.

So that gives me full time status. Woo-hoo! Let's pray for that TAP award now...

I even calculated my GPA. As much as I hate this, I may see a C+ in orgo class. But even after my calculations, the GPA total will be able to take the hit if I achieve a B+ or above in Microbiology class. Hate doing this, but... situation is forcing me to look at it this way. I am praying for a B or a B- which would be fantastic, considering the class. I heard organic chem II is a bit easier than the first one, so I am hoping that this card will favor me next Spring.

Still haven't been able to take Penelope to the Geek Squad for her new battery. I'm just bad. Will try to keep this a bit more updated. I know for a fact I will have a lot more time come the Winter break and my studying for my MCAT, PCAT (yes, I have added the pharmacy school option in there, as I am beginning to grow fascinated with pathogens, diseases and their erradications) and the NLN (not too appealed with the nursing school idea, but that's backup Plan C).

For now, I am off... have a great week everyone and will try to log on tomorrow and post some more updates!!!

Cheers!

Saturday, October 23, 2010

No computer is a bitch

Sorry folks, but tis' the truth. Penelope is still put away and awaiting a trip to the geeks so that we can get her out of her dead battery phase. It's just life is so crazy right about now.

I finally got a new phone! The older one was falling apart. It had tape all over the place and it wasn't  ringing correctly or loud enough. I got myself another phone (similar to a Sidekick) but I am afraid a Blackberry is what I need right now. I'm close to thirty not twenty. But anyways...

I took another orgo quiz last Wednesday. It was pretty good, despite the fact that Stereochemistry is considered the hardest part of the entire course. I must say, it is pretty hard, but now I am studying with some people and I'm playing on seeing my professor for some extra doubts.

Life is pretty good, despite the stress level. I haven't had time to spend with friend because of my crazy sleeping patterns and such. I also had the chance to shadow a doctor this week but I was a bit disenchanted at being too involved with the patients. I care way too much. The doctors have told me this may present a problem. I'm a bit concerned. Could this be a warning sign?

Anyways, until a bit later. Time to do my lab reports.

Cheers!

Sunday, October 17, 2010

Happy 18th Birthday to my darling nephew from cyberspace!

Well, life has been crazy. I got a letter from my nephew and sent him two last week. I am actually writing him one tomorrow and sending him some pictures, stamps and love so that he hangs in there.

Only 60 more days to go. I have faith that he won't get discharged.

On top of that, today is my nephew's 18th Birthday! I remember those Saturday nights when my mother and I would go over to my sister's and play dominoes, or pick on him, fight with him, goof around, and watch him pig out like a normal teenager. God, I miss that!



But now he has a son and a girlfriend, eagerly waiting for his return from training. We all are. Anxiously and patiently waiting for him to return.

From cyberspace, I am sending deep love and good vibes and wishes to my nephew. The little baby I saw come home from the hospital as a nine and a half pound baby, twenty-three inches. And now look at him, with more responsibility than me and I am creeping through my late 20's.

Studying study groups against thy will REALLY blows

The biggest waste of time in my life have and will always be study groups. I can't stand them. And for the lack of better will, I have been compelled to do it.

My microbiology midterm has been postponed for the first weeks of November. And I have some time to make up for lost ground. I have scouted the help of a classmate there to give me a hand. He's good, I must confess; so making time to just study will be fine and essential for our acing the midterms. It sounds like the exam will be intense. 50 multiple choice questions and it was proven from the practice/simulation exam that they will be a doozy. And tricky.

I hate tricky.

Well, I got the results for my organic chemistry exam and suffice to say, I didn't fail. I was above the average mark for the class but it is still not enough. So, against my will, I've had to recruit the help of a classmate who did excellent on the exam to help me. While he was thrilled with the prospect of helping me, I still have to say that I hate group study with a passion. I find it a waste of my time and of my partner's. Nothing gets done, except a lot of talking ala "knowing me, knowing you way." HOWEVER, I am willing to overlook this little detail and try my best to study with this guy.

Hopefully, he won't get too blown away by my apparent lack of orgo chem knowledge.

I am just a bit worried about his willingness to get out of his way to help me. I hope it isn't what I think it is because he offered to help me based on MY schedule instead of his own and he seemed eager enough for me and him to get started immediately. While I approached him with the question, I am still rather perplexed of his good nature. Perhaps because I am so cynical that I can't see the great picture. By Monday afternoon I should know better what's his angle. I, on the other hand, will avoid any type of cynicism and just say he is being nice and only wants to help me.

Yet he is kind of cute, so...

Friday, October 15, 2010

One long week and have been exhausted

It has been over a week and will fill you guys on what's happening later during the day!!! Cheers!

Friday, October 8, 2010

Life Sucks (well, sometimes)

This week has been crappy. I was just given word that my microbiology departamental midterms for lab and lecture are on either the 19th or 21st, my lab report due on the 12th, and my lecturer's exams on the 14th for lecture and TBD on the lab. Ugh...

I gained some weight this week and I'm already broke after thinking about the bills I have to pay. Being broke sucks! These are the times I hate taking pre-med classes; you're broke, student loans are mounting, you live with your parents and don't earn enough money. I especially hate that one- being broke.

I don't complain though. After all, life can be ten times worse. I can be the rich Upper East Side lady who I rode on the bus with this afternoon on my way to pick up little Emily* from school to take her to a friend's birthday party. And though I wasn't intentionally late, I had the chance to overlook rich Upper East Side lady's notebook she was writing on:

"I hate life... I can't take this anymore... I can take this anymore... I can't take this anymore..."

And I would also like to add that she was crying while she wrote this. Of course, being in NYC, no one cared or noticed. Just myself. How bad can life suck when you contemplate on ending it?

The woman looked like she was in her late 50's. Caucasian, blonde, looked like she was well- off. Well, at least better off than me. What could be her dilemma? What can push a human being to the edge to cause harm to him or herself? To me, life is a beautiful thing filled with things that suck. It isn't easy, but you only get one shot. Why do people waste on it? Why don't people realize that you only get one life to live. Nothing in this world can be worse than dying; especially when you don't want to. I hope that I live until I'm 1,000, but I'm afraid this isn't so. That won't stop me from taking good care of myself and not harm it with toxic crap, narcotics, guns and/or knives and diseases spread by other ill-intentioned individuals.

Whatever Upper East Side lady's dilemma is must be serious. She wrote a page in a half  "I can't take it no more..." That's very sad and I was a pinch close to trying to talk to her, but it's like some New Yorkers would say "It's none of my business."

I also visited Dave and Busters and spent more money on machines, but it was a fun day. Emily* was spending time with me instead of with her little friends and that made me feel bad for her. She needs to be around girls her own age. It's like the great and ONLY Mr. Miyagi once said "To make honey, young bee needs fresh flower not old prune." And I'm not considering myself an "old prune," just much older than these little girls. Which comparing to them, I would also be "old prune."

Much older  "old prune."

I also went with a good and special friend of mine to the Fat Cat on Christopher Street and 7th Avenue in Soho. It was comfortable. There was Jazz music, Scrabble boards, ping pong, shuffle board (also known as the elderly population past time) and pool. It was a nice place- an establishment I most certainly will go back to again. I played two games with my friend and needless to say, I kicked his ass badly at Scrabble. It wasn't even close.

With this, I will say goodbye, take a shower and get some rest since I have a doctor's appointment at 9am, go take Penelope to the Geek Squad (as she is now suffering from a coma, as a result of two dead batteries) exercise, clean the bathroom and do my lab report. Studying must be fiercely done in order to ace these exams. Oh, and did I mention that I got two A+ on my first two lab reports? Because I did. Praise the Lord!! One step closer to Baby Doctor School!!!

And with this beautiful light note, I'm signing off. Remember, as much as it sucks, life still is pretty fucking neat! Give it a chance and don't let anyone take you from here. Make it count and make yourself proud!

Cheerios to all and to all a good night!

Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Sacrifices

I think the most notable con about becoming a doctor is the great sacrifices you need to make for the greater good. I mean, don't get me wrong, helping others who cannot help themselves isn't what I would call a sacrifice but when you are planning on having babies, a husband or a "normal" family, then I think the sacrificed would majorly be them. My mother told me that if any of the emergencies were to take place, then she'd help me with the baby in case my future husband was a doctor or if I were  a single mother.

But I don't really want to depend on her or anybody, but at the end, I wouldn't really want anybody else caring for my babies than my family. That's the biggest worry I have and my main hessitation of going to medical school at times. Well, destiny will oversee this. I just took my first organic test today. I finished everything on it and I have a decent feeling about it, but we'll see if I ace it or do an amazing job.

By this time next Wednesday, my life will be pretty much decided. I told myself I wouldn't settle for a B. And I won't. Anyways, I am starting to get nervous with the Yankee game here. The game is tied and the bases are loaded for the Twins. C.C. Sabathia better not sabotage this game or I'll be upset. And of course, Microbiology is waiting...

Cheers!

Sunday, October 3, 2010

Broken Computer

For my luck, my computer's batery went kapoot on Saturday and have to go to the geeks to get it changed. If it would've been a hardware problem, I would've been totally upset.

Still studying, but think I may call it a night in about an hour. Still didn't get to microbiology. Tomorrow will be extra special for me indeed.

On second thought, I may go to bed now and get up extra early. I need to see my professor and ask him a million and one questions about orgo chemistry. Thank heavens I like microbiology, if not tomorrow would be a total nightmare!

Cheerio!

Orgo Chem

"WHO SAYS ORGANIC CHEMISTRY IS HARD?"

My professor always claims it isn't, but it's deep stuff, let me tell you. You have got to practice, practice, PRACTICE! It isn't just about being smart; I am not really the sharpest knife in the drawer, but I'm hanging in there. I guess there's a true tale about working hard and you'll be rewarded...

I also haven't started studying microbiology, a two-chapter test is on Tuesday and I guess you can say I'm royally screwed. I know I'll get to it sometime tonight, but I guess a lack of sleep must occur for that miracle to occur. I'll be falling asleep by 3am. There are never really any all nighters for me here. That's not a good prospect for somelike like me who wishes to enter a career that's all about massochism.

I hope that I ace these tests because I would hate to change careers... hopefully my hard work will pay off. There  ain't no such thing as a choosing a P.A. career as a backup for medical school. I can never imagine myself becoming a PA. More a nurse, but NOT a PA. No offense to the community.

Saturday, October 2, 2010

A Sweet Marine Letter and Happy Birthday to my Joey!

I wanted to get some studying done today and couldn't because I went to see my nephew's birthday party and my Little Loaf of Bread. I also heard from my nephew, Jay who is currently doing training to become a marine. Now, I'm trying to figure out how to get to his December 17th graduation in South Carolina. I hope I don't have a final during that day so that I can see my older nephew. I miss him so much!

Anyways, I'm off to watch the Yankee game and enjoy some more time with my family. Then finish chapters three and four and do some organic chemistry practice problems. Happy Birthday to my little nephew Joey, who will turn 10 on Monday!!!

Cheers to all!!!

Friday, October 1, 2010

Adventures in Babysitting

I'm a part-time babysitter which means I deal with kids driving me crazy several times a week for a few hours a day. One con is that sometimes you need to deal with parents who don't always see eye to eye with you and your sentiments.  A big con is a free metro unlimited a month and that it's flexible. Most of the time, you see more than the parents. The kids grow to trust you, especially when they like you. I've known Tommy* and Emily* for almost six years in January, since he was five and she was six. Now, Emily* is in middle school going through her first hits of puberty and little Tommy* is establishing himself as one of the most popular boys in school.

Today, I took Tommy to the bookstore to get a book and to also purchase some Biscuit books for my Little Loaf of Bread. My baby nephew loves books and to be read to. Plus I want him to be an established reader, like his older auntie. Hopefully, I'll get my way with him when it comes to books. Tommy and I had some quality time together and had some fun under the rain. I just hope he doesn't catch a cold.

Emily was waiting for me at their apartment in Midtown East, with Mariana,* the other babysitter I share shifts with. She was happy to see me too, but Emily told me that she had something very important to talk to me about. Come to find out, she's amongst a bunch of little pervert thirteen-year old boys trying to cop a feel out of a sixth grader. Sighs... I had to reiterate once again how our body (as girls) is a temple and that she should sternly let the next idiot (boy or girl) know to watch themselves and keep their hands to themselves. I also told Emily to talk to her mother about this, since her mother has really wanted to hold a solid relationship with her daughter. I don't blame her either. It's hard to reach a kid, but not impossible either. There's so much shit going on in the world of youths nowadays that I applaud my boss for her desire to continue having a babysitter/caregiver for her children despite the fact that girls Emily's age don't have one anymore. People, girls need a companion at that stage in their lives more than ever, especially in NYC- such a dangerous and big place.

I felt kind of flattered that Emily thought of me to talk to about something so personal and the fact that she didn't feel ashamed to tell me shows that she trusts me. I did tell her, however, that she must tell her mother about this episode so that her mother knows. I hope she talks to her herself or I think I'll have to tell her herself and I really don't want to be the one to do so. Emily told me that out of the people she knows she thought of me because I always know what to do and how she would feel. I do, actually. I was bullied as a child/teenager and there's nothing that I hate the most than a bunch of fools who bully on others just to impose their will and authority over the not so popular kids at their only palace in life. So, fuck 'em. And when I have more time, I'll let you in on my bullying story. It's rather funny actually because my high school years can really sum themselves in the movie Mean Girls, except that I think I was nastier than the nasty girls in that movie. You just grow tired of it and hopefully, so will Emily.

Anyways, now that I have unloaded my barrel on you guys, I feel a lot better and jump start my weekend by preparing for my organic chemistry and microbiology tests for next Wednesday and Tuesday. Wish me luck and cheers on this cool and rainy evening!

Thursday, September 30, 2010

9pm laboratory classes trully blow

There's nothing that can put a major dent to my not so perfect day like a 9pm laboratory class. I feel like the days never end on Tuesdays and Thursdays. One thing is if the school was twenty minutes or so away from me, but travelling an hour and change on the subway for an e-permit class from Brooklyn to Bronx is the greatest agony a pre-medical student can endure. It's a good thing that I sort of like the class, but the professor is another story.

Now I don't really want to delve into the details for my utter dislike of this perticular teacher, but he does not make coming to class pleasant at all. The microscopes are broken, and he spends way too much time explaining instead of applying what we've learned in microbiology.

The lecture class (which is in the morning) is so much better than the lab. I just get a kick out of leanring about the things that can kill us all. Don't you guys just love that optimism? I do.

I have yet to narrow down my medical school choices, though I highly doubt I will be able to get into the ones I have in mind, coming that these schools are in New York. But it would be nice if I got into one. Hopefully, the big guy upstairs will hook me up with that one because I can't really imagine myself going to a different place, especially away from my family and friends and my Little Loaf of Bread. I made a promise to myself that I would watch him grow but if I have to choose a school outside of NY to make my dreams come true, then so be it. Good rule of thumb, you really don't choose the medical school, the medical school chooses you.

And with that side note, I'm off to Mircobiology Lab to waste an hour and twenty minutes and another hour and change getting home. So, for my fellow New Yorkers that are outside, stay dry and warm. I'm still waiting for the strong wind gusts and the pouring rain. Knock on wood.

Cheers!

Wednesday, September 29, 2010

I've moved yet again!!!!

Hey all!  The start of this semester is going well, Microbiology is pretty cool and straightforward and organic chemistry is a bit more tedious. I have a test on the 6th at 6pm. Hopefully, this test will decide what will happen to me and my medical school goal.

Tomorrow is a big who knows about a surprise microbiology test. Fungi and protista are the main focus this week. I loved fungus though. Such an interesting chapter. Anyways, off to finish my Yankee game and to study for microbiology. Hopefully, I’ll be able to do a little better wth this class and with this blog!

Cheers!

Some quality time with my Little Loaf of Bread

Posted originally on July 26th, 2010

My life today was not eventful but I decided to spend time with my little godson.

At nearly 12 and a half pounds, he is the main reason I want to be a neonatologist.  When he was born, twelve weeks early and at only 1lb 12oz,  my family really thought he wouldn’t make it.  I, however, had faith that he would pull through. But, he had so many things going against him (i.e. jaundice, gastrointestinal difficulties and size) that I couldn’t do anything at all to help him. I couldn’t pick up a stethoscope to hear his little heartbeat, I couldn’t tell what he needed to enhance his health and his immune system and I couldn’t do anything at all to help him because I knew nothing about medicine. The knowledge I gained in Anatomy and Physiology gave me insight on what the doctors were doing and the functions of the body parts that affected my little godson. I understood the doctors and I was able to communicate my concerns and questions straight to them.

That’s my main concern and focus. I want to be able to communicate with my patients without having to repeat myself in simpler language what I told them the first time in the complicated one. Patients are nervous enough about their relatives already and they would hate to actually have to understand the doctors too.
So now, my baby nephew smiles, laughs, babbles and is very observant. He is a little piece of heaven, a boy who always has a smile on his face and is never sad or upset (except if he’s hungry, wet or sweaty and dirty) It’s admirable on how smart he is. He is dying to talk and observes your hands and your lips and on how he utters sounds. Gotta love my little loaf!

Here’s to babies and to an awesome career!

Some Saturday fun in the midst of a joyous heat wave.

Posted originally on July 25th, 2010

Joy! It’s hot as it always is in NYC today but despite this muggy and hot day, I managed to have fun with a few of my classmates today.

My friend Nick, who is almost done with all of his pre-requisites for pharmacy school, is leaving for Ghana tomorrow to meet his four month old son for the first time. I’m so happy for him! Imagine juggling full time work, a family 2,000 miles away and going to school part-time.How I admire that guy!

I also bought his baby boy a few baby things for Nick to take home to him. It wasn’t really much, as the little guy is growing like a weed and will be growing out of his baby clothes insanely soon. My nephew, who was a preemie is at 12 pounds right about now and in about 2 weeks, he will be a six month old. Go figure! I want to learn about babies so much. They can’t tell you how they feel or what hurts them, but go by instinct, knowledge and experience. And I want to be one of these people who is able to help them. But before I get to that hurdle, I have to jump over a billion other first. And my first one is getting my 3.1 GPA boost by the end of December.

I also saw my friend Georgie today and who will be in my Physics class this Fall and Spring and will also be my lab partner! She is about to finish her SMDEP program at Columbia this coming Friday! And she told me everything I needed to know about Medical school and their admissions criteria! And as hard to believe, there is still hope for me and the chance that I could stay in the States instead of having to drop my life here and go to Puerto Rican medical schools. It isn’t something I really want to do as I would be so far away from my immediate family, but I wouldn’t be able to see them if I was attending a medical school in New York anyway, so I guess I wouldn’t be at a total loss. There is also the language barrier as I believe the classes at the Puerto Rican medical schools are in Spanish, but if anyone knows, I’d like to know. I just hate the idea of being three and a half hours away from family and from my familiarity and at-homeness I feel in NYC already, via airplane.

I’d still have cousins and my grandmother, who is almost 82, but I wouldn’t be able to see them much either as I know I have to devote all of my time to medical school and to whooping butt so that I can come back to the mainland and land an awesome residency at an ivy league school.

Anyways, Georgie strongly advised me that I should do an SMDEP program next year so that I can have the option for one interview grant at the school I get into he program with. I first thought that you had to be a Freshman or Sophomore only to be able to apply, but it turns out postbacs and non-traditional students like myself do it too! I’ll be damned! And I’m totally doing that next summer.

We all went to Yonkers to buy more things for Nick’s son at clothing and department stores. Nick was so enthusiastic today that it was adorable. He really is looking forward to meeting his little boy. I guess I can’t really relate to him as I am not a mother yet, but I feel the same I sorta feel for my godson/little loaf of bread/little nephew Jordan- the baby in my profile picture. I go out on a shopping storm and get him as much as I possibly can.

At the end of the afternoon, Georgie, Nick and their friend Kingsley, drove me home. It was so hot today that I thanked my lucky stars that they were kind enough to take the drive and drop me off at my apartment building. I think I would’ve melted in sweat o a bus like the Wicked Witch of  The West did with water Dorothy splashed her in.

I told Nick to have fun and that I would see him back on August 25th when school was back in session. I can’t wait for my turn at the Delta Airlines bat to San Juan in the weeks to come.

BBQ’s

Posted originally on July 25th, 2010

On Friday, I met up with my friend Van Don for lunch at BBQ’s and a movie (Eclipse, which was surprisingly very good. I’m Team Jacob, by the way…). It was so exciting to see him again after his SMDEP experience in Duke this summer for six weeks. Lucky stiff! I wished someone would’ve given me that memo so that I could’ve applied for a program of these. Oh well, I’ll apply for next summer. At least if I decide to do it, I’ll get an automatic interview from the medical school.

From the sounds of it, Donnie’s experience with the SMDEP program was well worth his time. Think about it- a stipend, clinical rotations and exposure to the next few classes he was about to take- physics and physiology. I am taking physics next semester and I’m a bit nervous about it especially after hearing everyone in my university complain about how the professors are torturing them with confusing tests and mind playing school work. I am crossing my fingers I get the glimmer and grasp everything I need to get ahead.
So Donnie explained to me how I needed to take a few extra classes beside my pre-requisites and build up my GPA with silly classes that I know I’ll ace to boost my scores and get a much higher GPA. Silly me, I wished I would’ve done that from the start. NOW I know better and I’m ready to take the load. He also told me that I should really think of taking the course in biochemistry and a few classes here and there that will enhance my GPA and my knowledge for medical school. So I came home yesterday and registered for Childhood Psychology for the Fall to further strengthen my application with 1) an easy A and 2) enhance my knowledge of children that will help me understand them and become a better pediatrician, later a neonatologist.

Then Van Don told me these words: “If you’re considering 2012 admission like me, then it’s time to get ready for Med School and strengthen that application right now. Take easier general courses and raise that GPA. Be prepared to take the MCAT in June 2011.”

And here I thought it was September 2011. Then he told me that it takes three weeks for the scores to come into your application and extra time for the individual med schools to process into their records of yours. The October deadline would have passed and that would put me at a great disadvantage next to those who took the MCAT in April and June because by the time the application would be completed, medical schools would have  already interviewed a batch of students for admission and by October start making decisions as to who will get accepted and/or rejected and even send out the forms as early as that month. So at the latest, a June 2011 MCAT it is. I guess I should buy the Biology, verbal and chemistry sections ASAP.  When I spend time with Van Don, a young man, eight years my junior, he pumps me up each and everytime. He has such positive energy and a dire desire to get ahead and better himself, it isn’t even funny for a kid his age. It feels like looking at a mirror and remembering when I was 19 years old. It is nice to remember when 19 used to be extremely young and exciting. Sigh…

I need really good vibes from now until next October (2011, that is)

Inception and rest

Posted originally July 25, 2010

So my friend Nick just finished his Organic Chem I summer session on Thursday and told me that he was relieved that it was all over. Thank Heavens I backed off from that class before it was too late and decided to sit it out until the Fall. I think it is totally impossible to study 13 chapters of orgo chem in 6 weeks if you don’t know the material first hand. He told me the professor gave a six question final on Thursday and the first question was worth 48 points. Well, great, that won’t put any pressure at all on the professor’s students…
I was disappointed at myself because I really wanted to take the summer class. But I don’t think I want to add a C to my headaches- provided that’s what I would’ve gotten. I hear med schools frown upon C grades. I already have one C and I think I’ll have to repeat it just to show that I fix my act in Calculus. Boy, was that class ever so hard…
Anyways, Nick and I decided to go into NYC and enjoy ourselves for a biton thursday evening. We had some Chinese and then went to the movies to see Inception. Ok- I don’t wish to turn into a movie critic, but I didn’t understand that film AT ALL! My younger sister told me that I wasn’t paying enough attention to the plot and that it was crystal clear. Um… no. No it wasn’t. If it was, I would’ve understood and I didn’t. Explain to me how do people live in a dream within a dream, within a dream, within a dream, within a dream, within a dream…? I got confused as to why they were all dreaming in the first place. The only thing I thought was good was that other guy, Leo’s opposite, who possesed the same powers Leo had. And even THAT wasn’t clear enough!
After that, we decided to call it a night and went to our respective homes to get some rest as Friday was another day. That’s when I went to bed and suffered Inception myself. Someone convinced me in a dream within a dream that Inception even sucked more than I can ever know.
Help…

At my first Medical School open house

Originially posted on wordpress- July 25, 2010...

Ok, so I totally went to my first open house. It was a total accident as I didn’t have a clue that there was one on Wednesday.
I walked through the halls of the medical school side, feeling like I totally belonged. I did. Everytime I think of med school, it feels exciting and I am so ready to do it already. I was lucky enough to crowd the halls while the students were wrapping up with classes and walking to another laboratory. A lot of them looked like they were in their mid-20′s and into their own thing, but sociable with one another, as though they were the only people who would understand their dreams, frustrations and fears.
My guess is medical school is a community. A group of people who decided to embark on this long and painful journey and who happen to meet other people like them, with similar ambitions, ready to understand them. Sometimes, I feel like that with my pre-med friends/advisaries/acquaintances , although I don’t think it is a strong enough, as deep enough as those in a medical school setting.
I also saw the numbers and profile for the medical school and I sort of felt my heart sink. Gosh, how lovely it is to find out that your 3.0 science GPA isn’t enough to make the cut, but perhaps borderline GPA. With exception of one lady there, who was standing near the research jobs desk, everyone pretty much ruled out the low GPA- and don’t even consider other circumstances.
I also had the opportunity to sit down and chat with a fourth year medical student whose name, for her own security will be Rose. She seemed very nice and diplomatic despite my inconveniencing her during her lunch break (a plain cheesecake and a strong coffee) to ask her questions about her experiences in medical school. She told me that unless I was passionate about medicine and I knew that that’s what I woke up in the morning for, that I should do it and that nothing should stop me from achieving this goal. For the first time, someone (a stranger) told me that I shouldn’t be a podiatrist or something that I really didn’t want to be. Although she strictly emphasized onto me the importance of busting my ass this semester to achieve a 3.3 which is still totally possible. And if my math is correct, it should be dangerously close to a 3.3 if I get straight A’s. Will I get them? Only friggin’ time will say.
I also asked Rose about her thoughts of the medical program she attends and would she ever go through medical school all over again. While she didn’t give a flat “no” to me, she didn’t say yes either. She also emphasized on the big sacrifices I was about to make for the sake of medicine. This was something I already knew and I am already expecting. It doesn’t surprise or scare me that I would give up to some extent my already non-existing social life and my current interests to pursue the rest of life for the following 7-10 years.  I just wish it could come sooner.  I even asked Rose if she was thinking of starting a family in the next few years and she told me that she didn’t know either. I highly doubt that Rose will though. Her specialty of interest is emergency and internal medicines. These specialties, from what I heard and read, are 24/7 on-call jobs so when will she have time for a family if the hospital is understaffed of doctors on one night she would have to care for her babies? She is only 27 and already done with some of the hardest stuff- so there may be hope for her still, but I just DON’T see it.  Now she needs to find a residency… but she was starting her fourth year of medical school next month, so maybe she applied for several already? I regret not have asked her if she already applied for a residency already.
After our little chat, I had to go to the physician’s assistant open house and couldn’t speak to her any longer. She was kind enough to even offer her email address in case I had questions about the medical school.  Boy, I really underestimated the whole medical school atmosphere. Allright…!!!
Luck of the draw. My friend told me I should take some more classes. And I guess that’s what I am going to do.
Anyways, done with this post. Much to update in the hours to come.
God, I wish I was more on top of this blog…